Whats New

WHY

BUT WHY… Living is about grabbing life by the Coconuts!

We have begun to believe that we must stay and live in the comfort zone of what one “should” do! But for me, I feel the most alive outside that zone, it is thrilling and invigorates me to push the boundaries a little more!

“Some people see things as they are and say why? I dream
things that never were and say, why not?”
-Robert F. Kennedy
(Interpretation of George Bernard Shaw’s words in the play Back to Methuselah)

Dear WHY,

You are not the first to question “What the Hell are you doing?” My first off the cuff answer is -Why NOT? The above quote has been on one wall or another, visible daily for the last 7 years!

I was lucky to be born into a family that values travel. By the time we moved to England (6th grade) I had been to almost all 50 states and many National Parks. Back stateside as a teen and then off to college in Miami, FL I took a road trip and checked off the last on my list of 50 – Maine by age 19. But again you may say…but WHY then am I traveling to all 50 states? For one I was a child when I visited them last time, as an adult it will be a different perspective. Also my childhood travels were on four-wheels with windows and doors, this time 2 – wheels, wide open with the landscapes I travel through.

When we moved to Europe it really opened doors to travel as a family and I just have not shaken that out of my genes. By my thirties I had been to over 40 countries and noticed relationships between countries and states. For example the mountains in Chile reminded me of the mountains of Hawaii, and so many other correlations started to pop up as I traveled so I decided to take on a year adventure throughout my own backyard playground.

I also know that I will not take this trip and stay exactly the same. Journeys of this kind add layers to who you are. One thing for sure is currently the road feels like home to me, and maybe, just maybe I will find a spot to homestead … but only time will tell, the road may be my lifetime nature.

There are so many reasons when you sit down to take a trip like this, another component for me as a writer and humanitarian is to share the young readers edition of my book Philanthropic Wanderlust with students. (called Purposeful Wanderings) I will be doing readings and providing classroom sets with curriculum guides to schools around the nation. Hoping to provide the stepping stones into philanthropy for future generations.

I also plan to do talks and lectures about motorcycle travel around the nation, with a few already scheduled, Horizons Unlimited in Cali, and Overland Expo in Flagstaff.

I have never just done ONE thing, so it make since to continue my nature and do book readings, lectures, traveler stories on the road, documentaries, blogs, video blog, write some more, RIDE even more and expand into the world of motorcycle travelers that have been a big part of who I am for a very long time! Thank you to all that have read this, and I look forward to seeing you on the road…the road of life…adventure is calling loudly…go ahead answer it!

So as I hit the road I raise a glass to all those who may say WHY and I hope that one day you say WHY NOT!

-Danell

1 Comment on WHY

  1. Bruce Wayne Jaurigue // August 2, 2014 at 2:29 pm // Reply

    Just seen you on Fox….just wish you be safe;;;an know,you what your doing,,Since you traved,most your life so far………..will follow youm,as one can,,,,take care ,,BruceWay

Leave a Reply

