Whats New

KIVA – Thanksgiving beginning

For the past five years my Thanksgiving Holiday has been spent traveling and doing humanitarian work in developing countries. (which is a great reminder of all that I have to be thankful for.)

When I am back home and want to feel connected as a global citizen I visit Kiva.  I came across Kiva a few years ago and was hooked! For as little as $25 you can loan money to a person around the globe creating a business or rebuilding a home / hut…a little bit goes a very long way with Kiva and they are loans so they get repaid! I have always received repayment and when I do I choose to reinvest in another loan. ( I have loaned in 6 of the 84 countries they currently have available for loans – from Bolivia to Cambodia, Tajikistan to Philippines, and more) I think it is always great fun – as you get to search through the site and get to know the person that you are loaning to! Check out my campaign here:

http://www.kiva.org/campaign/591

100% of your loan goes to funding the loan (during check out you can choose to provide funds to help run Kiva as well)

Kiva – “empower people around the world with $25”  Many people around the holidays look for gifts with meaning, and it definately is that and has an over 98% repayment rate.

“We envision a world where all people – even in the most remote areas of the globe – hold the power to create opportunity for themselves and others.

We believe providing safe, affordable access to capital to those in need, Kiva helps people create better lives for themselves and their families.”

Kiva gives you the chance to make small loans to borrowers working to start businesses and improve their lives. I’m already lending on Kiva and thought you’d like to join me! I have decided this holiday season to start a Kiva Campaign ( a new why from Kiva to build a team and goal of loans for a certain amount of time) I am starting mine this Thanksgiving and letting it run throughout the last 10 months of my trip…10 months – with a goal of $10,000 in loans around the globe- A fun way to incorporate giving and charity into my trip – both of which are very important to me!

http://www.kiva.org/campaign/591

 

Leave a Reply

