Whats New

Yellowstone National Park

There are so many words that could be used to describe this majestic place – but I think that it creates the best visual and the scenes that are burned into my mind to just simply say – Yellowstone is like a fine art painting!

I have seen her landscapes painted over the years with the rolling hills and dense forests and just thought that artists took a liberty to add in the depth of colors – but no it is like a painting and just as captivating.

I stayed for 3 days in Lewis Lake campground near the south entrance of the park! A great location right on a lake and nestled in the forest. It is one of the more primitive sites but does have toilets and also important – individual bear boxes for all your goodies. Not only do you feel more “Yellowstone” here it is also only $15 a night and if you come in summer when the camp host Larry is on duty – give a big hello to him from me – and be sure to chat with him (this man has years of wonderful stories from Yellowstone).

The natural elements kept me in awe, although it was the wildlife that got my heart beating! I was lucky enough to see a young male moose, a mother grizzly bear and two cubs, bison galore (but one very close up – was a little nerve wrecking) and herds of elk! I could not have asked for a more filled trip!

And the geysers – well not only did I watch front row for Old Faithful but that days crowd was lucky to also see Bee Hive erupt just minutes after. Bee Hive lasts longer, shoots higher and only goes off 1 or 2 times a day!

Yellowstone was an adventure for sure although I could have used more days to see it all – 3 days just does not cover it. As the World’s First National Park it sure does live up to all the hype and the memories I had from the visit when I was just in kindergarten almost 30 years ago! Just stunning!

image

7 Comments on Yellowstone National Park

  1. Janet Mason // July 10, 2015 at 2:38 pm // Reply

    YES,YES AND YES! Been there several times and always Yellowstone never disappoints. Even snowmobiling thru in Dec. Old Faithful shooting off in the winter is quite an experience.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Barbara Wright // July 10, 2015 at 2:50 pm // Reply

    So glad you got this opportunity! I have never been there. It is in my bucket list. Safe travels!

  3. Hi Danell, I love Yellowstone too! Your Uncle Lee and I went there several times when we lived in Washington State! It is a marvelous location and as you did I loved the wildlife too! Love, Aunt Maryann
    Keep on traveling safely please!!

  4. I think you will accomplish more in your travel in one year, than most of us will see in our lifetime. We wish you safe traveling where ever you go, God Bless You.

  5. wmcqueary@cox.net // July 11, 2015 at 5:11 pm // Reply

    It’s been amazing to follow you. Hope you return to us to share all of it’

    This is life being lived not just passing through some linear experience that you title “life”

    You are amazing and I am proud to have met you

    Bill

Leave a Reply

