Whats New

Walden

“I learned this, at least, by my experiment: that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.”
― Henry David Thoreau, Walden: Or, Life in the Woods

Some locations on this trip are filled with motion and music – like Nashville, or Chicago…some locations are simply for quiet contemplation – this was Walden.

There is a fluidity in life that gets its balance in silence. Sometimes just sitting on the edge of a historic pond is a drug in itself for your mind.

I found much peace at Walden and even with the locals swimming and enjoying the beaches – many were camped out under the shade reading!

It was in this moment that I realized I don’t see that enough anymore…reading… I rarely find people engrossed in books as I travel. Often at historic sites I will see youth on Facebook and completely disjointed from the location they are visiting and this is a bit sad to me.

I yearn for Walden some days, and can understand why Thoreau needed to have this! It still is special and has a air of joy and peace unlike other ponds I visit…is that real or an emotion I have created for it? I am not sure but the feeling in me was real and I enjoyed my sack lunch and hike through Walden pond! It was my joy and to that – thank you Mr. Thoreau!

image

3 Comments on Walden

  1. Angel Martinez // August 19, 2015 at 9:16 pm // Reply

    You make me want to visit Walden! Sitting on the edge is always a drug for the mind! Can’t wait to sit on the edge with you again!

  2. Barbara Wright // August 20, 2015 at 3:17 am // Reply

    You are so right. Too few people read these days. Sad.

Leave a Reply

