Whats New

Falling Water

The irony of the day was not lost on me! Falling Water was my end destination and I rode through Thunderstorm downpours (so Falling Water) all day long. From 9am until 6pm I was in my rain suit with sporadic moments of suns delight!

But alas on to the creative genius that was Frank Lloyd Wright! I have wanted to see Falling Water since I was quite young, it has always captivated me in a way that I could not explain – until now…after seeing it in person and being present in such a seamless blend of nature and art thorough architecture I understood my deeply held desire to view this work of art! It was magnificent.

Designed in 1935 it quickly became the calling card that got Frank Lloyd Wright over 400 more commissions for work (he was already in his 70s). Talk about true passion – he never stopped creating or designing – the only thing that stopped him was his death in his 90s.

It is the “only major Wright work to come into the public domain with its setting, original furnishings and artwork intact.” In 1963 the Kaufmann family entrusted it to the Western Pennsylvania Conservancy!

It is truly a magical place, I would suggest signing up for the last tour of the day – that way when you head to the viewing area no other tourists will be in your photos!

5 Comments on Falling Water

  1. Barbara Wright // August 28, 2015 at 4:19 pm // Reply

    I will add to my bucket list after reading your beautiful description.

  2. Glad you got to see this! I agree with Barbara, I will add to my list.

  3. Dan Dowding // August 29, 2015 at 5:22 am // Reply

    Very Nice, Cool,,,B Safe…..

  4. drmajohnson // August 29, 2015 at 6:10 pm // Reply

    Hi Danell, It truly is a beautiful site and one anyone would want to see! They moved a Frank Lloyd Wright building to Arkansas for the Crystal Bridges Museum brought to us by the Walton daughter, It is provided at no cost to the public unless they have a very special exhibit brought in and then there is a charge for that one exhibit but the rest is still free! The Frank Lloyd Wright house is supposed to be ready to view in November. I am looking forward to seeing it completed. I am a member of the Museum so I will be able to see it before it is open for the public. It is a magnificent museum and you should come back some time to enjoy it too. I know you spent some time with Ron and Jenny in Maine so I deserve some more of your time when I know you are coming. Seriously that would be great! Love Aunt Maryann

Leave a Reply

