Whats New

The Final Frontier

“hey world what do you say” great lyrics played as I recapped my time in Alaska!

I could not have asked for a better 4 days in Alaska! I had a little rain on day one when crossing the border then 3 days of dry bliss!

Fall was encroaching, creating a visual explosion of color! An experience I thought I had missed out on in the eastern states as I was too early for the changing of the leaves but oh did I catch it in Alaska. Beautiful yellows floated down softly as the leaves of Aspen trees fell – what a gift to ride through. There were bushes of bright red and even the contrast of dead trees and green trees sparked ocular bliss…could not complain at all for my time in Alaska.

Not to mention the Dalton Highway. I had seen pictures from just the week before and the rough muddy path – I wanted to make the Arctic Circle – Amelia and I! First step – I stopped at the gas station bought an extra back up gas canister – topped off, adjusted chain and we were off! The road changed probably 5 times from gravel, packed dirt, 1/2 paved and gravel, paved, and a muddy mess a one point! I tried to photograph the changes in the road with my Sena 10c helmet camera To show the challenges and extreme fun Amelia and I had on the Dalton Highway!  And I am happy to report we made it!! And we even had a little side trip to view up close part of the Alaskan Pipeline.

My entire ride back west and north everyone I encountered found it necessary to tell me that I was late in the season to be heading to Alaska (as if I was not aware of the time of year) but in all actuality I was behind about 3 weeks for a decision made to fly to and ride Cambodia with the Ride of My Life crew…and I would make the same choice again. What it meant is that I was riding faster and longer that is all…I still saw all that I hoped too and did all that I wanted to accomplish… and the universe in the true nature of this trip- made sure I was here exactly when I was supposed to be.  If I reached Canada 2.5 weeks before it was snowing in Calgary and hailing in Banff instead when I went through (yes there was rain almost the entire time) but the weather was so nice that I was even able to camp through the national parks! And lets talk Alaska if I had been just 3 days earlier they were under a winter storm warning and the day after I arrived (the Dalton Hwy Day) it was clear and in 60 degrees – it was perfect! I had this temperature for 3 days and was able to camp on eagle creek river near Anchorage with the low only in the 50’s. My timing – turns out- was exactly the right time I was supposed to be here and what can be said about hitting the 49th and final state in my 50 state tour that can be driven to! It was wonderful and completely filled with passion and excitement and I found myself often just giving Amelia a pat and smiling while exhaling a calm “Man, Alaska – eh!”

Wildlife wise I was able to see Moose 2 separate occasions, the second time I could see something far ahead crossing the road – I could see the stride and the darkness from such a distance! These creatures are huge and utterly captivating. I sat on the side of the road and watched a young one for quite a bit as he / she scampered in the field of trees and bushes on the side of the road.

See more pictures from my time in Alaska and weeks of Galleries from my trip on my photo-share site:

http://www.BT2BT.smugmug.com

image

4 Comments on The Final Frontier

  1. Barbara Wright // September 10, 2015 at 6:34 am // Reply

    What a great adventure!!!

  2. U R ONE TRUE FEMALE, WHEN U PUT UR MIND TO DO SOMETHING, U GO UNTIL IT IS ACCOMPLISHED, U HAVE TO GIVE UR BUDDY [ AMELIA] A LOT OF THE CREDIT FOR MAKING THE TRIP WITH U, SHE WAS A TRUE CHAMPION. BEST OF LUCK UNTIL THE END OF UR JOURNEY.

  3. Hello,

    live in Brazil and his journey, his great adventure excites me. What wonderful sights you saw. How many miles and miles of pure excitement you experienced.
    Congratulations fantastic saga, you and your beautiful Bonneville Amelia.
    Ride Safe.
    Maybe one day you do not decide to visit the Southern Cone in Amelia?
    Congratulations.

  4. Jere and Carol Mann // September 18, 2015 at 10:35 pm // Reply

    Hi Danell Met you in cayuga state park in new york Had breakfast with us. So glad you made it!! Jere and Carol Mann

Leave a Reply

