Whats New

Limits…No!

Understanding your Limits and Needs – Then break them

An Adventure Motorcycling perspective in journal form

By Danell Lynn for RideNow Powersports

danell lynn hawaiiThis blog comes more as a response to different questions I have received over the years in my adventure motorcycle exploration. It is the way I perceive this journey called life.

If you had told me ten years ago that I would be in the Guinness World Record books and the first solo-female in the world to break the record for longest journey in a single country, I would have said, um…okay. Or that I would be riding through the northern mountains of Pakistan and the single track of Cambodia. I cannot say for certain, but I am pretty sure I may have thought the palm reader was full of it! But that is the beauty in life, isn’t it? You can go from creating gowns for Miss America to wiping the red dirt of Cambodia and bugs off your face just a few years later!

But now as I look back over the last five years. The adventures that two wheels have taken me on, how motorcycling now directs my life and where those wheels will take me! This is the motivation for this piece because I could have easily said, “you have never taken a long journey…it is too dangerous…you are not great at dirt riding.” It would have been easy to limit myself and my experiences; it would have been easy to stay put. (Sort of, my heart is made for adventure and travel, so staying put is sometimes my hardest accomplishment).

danell lynn motorcycle adventure

There are true limits in life that may hinder us, but then there are fears that we tell ourselves are limits, and we let those fears dictate our lives. I hope that you can look at fear, look at those self-perceived limits and walk up to them and punch them in the face…yes I said it, punch them in the face. Do not let your fears limit you.  You may say, I am too old, or I am too young…you will still be the same age next year…will you be one year older with a great adventure under your belt or will you be one year older wishing you jumped in, fear and all.

Riding gives you a lot of perspective on life, a lot of opportunities to open up to the world! It is a great teacher and is one of the best challenges that can be explored in many ways. For example, I was on a year-long journey through the US when I got the opportunity to be a part of a dirt biking documentary in Cambodia…a group ride on dirt! This was a first for me on many levels, but it was exciting and riding with such talented dirt riders … READ THE REST OF THE STORY on my blog for RideNow.

2 Comments on Limits…No!

  1. Hear hear. We always find excuses not to do things but how often do we stop to say why not? ‘Make Your Own Pot of Gold…’ is my philosophy for my blog and riding motorcycles is a huge part of that. Taking the opportunities we are given in life is one thing but to actually do anything about them is another. I only wish more people had this mindset as there is a whole world out there and our only limit is ourselves 😊

  2. William jordan // September 6, 2018 at 8:02 pm // Reply

    L admire u as a person and mostly as a young and very talented WOMAN who takes life at the most and enjoy every moment. God Bless you on what life holds for you.

Leave a comment